About Lower Kersal Community Primary School

Lower Kersal Primary School was opened in 1929 and is set in extensive grounds with a large central courtyard area. There are two playgrounds and a large playing field.


There are at present 264 children on roll. The Standard Admission Number for each class is 30 children.


The school has a 26-place nursery department housed within the main school.  Amongst the many awards we have won over the years, Lower Kersal Community School has been the winner of three Quality Marks, a Leading Parent Partnership Award and has been awarded two Green Flags for its Eco work.   We have also been awarded Dyslexia Friendly Status and the Silver Games Mark.


Community School Status


In 1994 Lower Kersal Primary School was the first of Salford’s primary schools to be awarded community school status in recognition of our activities which bring the school and its community together.





Lower Kersal Community Primary School Ethos & Core Values:

  • Recognise each person’s uniqueness and individual needs and encourage pupils to take full advantage of all that school life has to offer
  • Provide a safe environment, which nurtures a love of learning and for life itself and which enables each person to have increased aspirations
  • Provide a creative and challenging curriculum which is enhanced with a variety of enrichment events and after school activities
  • Provide for all aspects of pupil and staff development to enable each person to achieve their potential
  • Provide the same educational opportunities for all pupils, irrespective of ability, social or cultural background.


It is our aim that pupils:

  • Gain a sense of satisfaction from personal achievement and become self-motivated individuals
  • Have a sense of responsibility towards others and accept responsibility for their own actions and behaviour
  • Respect the rights and values of others


At LKPS we take pride in how diverse and inclusive we are.  At LKPS we are 'all different, all equal'.  We respect each other’s differences - race, religion, gender, age, gender identity, disability and sexual orientation.